these past few days!

well these past few days have been a frenzy of fishing, I fished the river stour at the town of Bures yesterday and I caught 7 roach ranging from 2-7″ long and 3 perch around the same size. The perch were undoubtedly some of the prettiest ones I have ever seen, probably due to the extremely clear water and streamer weed growing in the river. unfortunately I left my camera at home so your going to have to use your imagination.

This morning I fished the same river further upstream where it is more of a chalkstream, shallow and fast flowing with a chalky/gravely bottom, I caught loads of minnows including several brightly coloured males in their spawning dress, unfortunately the camera was left behind again, but I took a picture of one of the males with my grandmothers phone, but it may be a while before I can post it up here. I then caught a little chub of around 10″ but I didn’t get a photo.

luckily I remembered the camera on my trip this afternoon, I fished the same river again at Sudbury where it is much wider and deeper, the wind was a bit of a problem for presenting a float but I still managed several roach, rudd and perch, although the perch were nowhere near as pretty as the ones from yesterday. here are the pictures I took.

roach

rudd

perch (european perch, pretty different from yellow perch in appearance, this one was a juvenile so it looks quite simular, adults have a distict humped back and they tend to be much darker.)

Thanks for reading! hopefully I’ll catch something a bit different tomorrow to show you all.

Hugo.

Leave a Reply

